One Day…

​Maybe one day people will see, you can’t feed the hungry with a diamong ring. In this world of insanity, it’s hard for people to be at peace. Judged on our religious beliefs, as though believing would be seeing, but it turns out that believing is deceiving. Let’s go back to a simpler time, go back in time to when the world seemed innocent and kind, and not flawed by design. And for those of us who grew up in the hood, whether you escaped or not, even if you’re still caught up, you deserve a standing ovation, an acknowledgment that you’re still alive, an inspiration to remind you of the times when ignorance was bliss and bliss was blind.

It’s been so long since I’ve seen my true self, and with all the time that’s passed, I think I’ve become someone else, I don’t recognize my reflection as I pass. It’s been awhile since I’ve known who I am, so long it seems that I can’t remember what makes me, me. But I can’t pretend like things are fine, I’m in denial, please reach my hand before I fall back into the same old things that kill, and fill this gaping hole with angst and anguish, pain and sorrow. Please hear my screams, my desperate cries for help, please see the real me, before I’m gone for good, before I give up on myself.

I’m underrated, underappreciated, and now I’m sad to say that all the better days I’ve seen have all begun to fade away. But I keep my eyes high, always looking up to the sky, in search of brighter days, cause as they all say they’ll come my way eventually. And yet I’m always waiting, always impatiently awaiting the arrival of the happiness I’ve earned, and the departure of my woes. But it never ends, this madness and sadness I’m living with, will be with me forever so it seems until I’m laid to rest, until my final days, until my body’s turning cold & gray, then maybe I can finally see the bright light at the end of the tunnel, instead of the darkness paved in front of me, so I can see that pain does not define me, so I can finally be free of the stigma, of the silent judgment that’s been haunting me for an eternity, and maybe then I’ll finally feel relief.

5 thoughts on “One Day…

Leave a Reply

