Creative Writing Prompt #2

A knock on the door in the middle of the night never means good news, and as far as I was concerned, I wasn’t interested. Since I live alone, I had no intention of going anywhere near that door, but it definitely left me feeling uneasy. I tried my best to creep quietly from window to window, in a paranoid yet justified attempt to catch a glimpse of the mysterious knocker, but no such luck. A few moments passed between the knocks, and a few minutes later they ceased entirely. My skepticism and cynicity have me utterly convinced that something was seriously wrong, and my suspicions were made worse by the lack of foot steps. The absence of any sounds at all between when the knocking stopped and when I finally checked the peep hole on my front door not too long afterwards, to find absolutely nothing, no sign of anyone at all.

Leave a Reply

